PhotoFiltre

Le forum officiel de PhotoFiltre
It is currently 12 Dec 2019 17:07

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016 15:07 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
Good day. Is it just me or gaussian blur doesn't work on transparent layers anymore? If so this is catastrophic.

Also, if you select 'distort' for any layer and then try to double click to cancel it, it gives me the an error. You have to either move the selected or distort it and then double click it (cancelling it with right click works but double clicking is faster).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016 16:05 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
gaussian blur doesn't work on transparent layers
==> You must check "Draw in transparent Alpha" in the dialog box or in the preferences (tab Misc)

distort'
==> What is exact error message ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016 17:24 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
Antonio wrote:
gaussian blur doesn't work on transparent layers
==> You must check "Draw in transparent Alpha" in the dialog box or in the preferences (tab Misc)

I of course experimented with everything and with alpha transparency the results are drastically different from before, the area shrinks significantly even on the lowest levels. As an artist, this is a big issue when you need precision. It worked just fine in the previous versions. I recently updated to the latest version, and this became an issue.
Image


Quote:
distort'
==> What is exact error message ?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016 21:09 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
It's not the blur, it is the border effect, perhaps it truncate too much. You can edit the alpha channel and apply a blur to it separettly. With this method, you can personalize the result.

Violation d'acces...
==> i think it is a memory error. Perhaps your image is too big ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2016 21:48 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
Antonio wrote:
It's not the blur, it is the border effect, perhaps it truncate too much. You can edit the alpha channel and apply a blur to it separettly. With this method, you can personalize the result.

How do you edit the alpha channel for this? I know where it is but I never did it before because it was fine in the previous versions.

Quote:
Violation d'acces...
==> i think it is a memory error. Perhaps your image is too big ?

No, this happens regardless of the size.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 7:00 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
1) First methode : you can uncheck "Apply to Alpha channel" and use Layer > Border > Effect > Progressive contour

2) Use the menu Layer > Transparency > Edit Alpha channel

it was fine in the previous versions
==> in the previouse version, you has not the option "Apply to Alpha channel" in the blur function


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 7:15 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
Antonio wrote:
1) First methode : you can uncheck "Apply to Alpha channel" and use Layer > Border > Effect > Progressive contour

2) Use the menu Layer > Transparency > Edit Alpha channel

First method does nothing. Second method is the one I've been asking about, how do you make the border effect less truncate with this?

Quote:
==> in the previouse version, you has not the option "Apply to Alpha channel" in the blur function

And it worked great without it, now it's an issue though :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 15:48 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
First method does nothing
==> not possible, perhaps you don't have alpha channel ? can you post image here ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 16:58 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
By nothing I mean it does the exact same thing as with alpha channel checked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 18:47 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
I'm not sure to understand the issue :cry:

Can you post here the result with the previouse version (best for you) and the result with the last version (not correct for you) and your settings.

I need to compare to understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2016 19:24 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
I don't have the previous version already, but basically my issue is with transparent layer only. Gaussian blur works just fine and the same as before on the base background. I'll try to make it visual.

http://s32.postimg.org/lkpjpzp91/Untitled_1.png


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2016 6:55 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
you tryed to reduce the radius to 12 fo example ?

Send me the transparent layer in PNG 32 bits (before applying the blur)

Go to the menu Layer > Export layer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2016 8:16 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
Antonio wrote:
you tryed to reduce the radius to 12 fo example ?

Um, of course. If the radius is anywhere above ~18, the object on the layer just disappears from blurring; if the radius is below ~18, the blur is insufficient and in general still shrinks the object.

http://s31.postimg.org/uzo6vdbzf/Layer_1.png


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2016 14:56 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 22:49
Posts: 11273
Gender: None specified
I think there are some confusion because what you want is not to apply a blur to the content of the layer, you want to apply a border with a progressive contour. It is for that i tell you to try the Progressive contour function.

I will give you 2 methodes (better for me that the basic gaussian blur)

For both, start to open the file Layer_1.png and insert a new blank background.
(don't forget to activate the layer)

1. If you want a pressive contour with outflated border :
a) Menu Layer > Transparency > Edit Alpha channel
b) Apply a Gaussian blur to this greylevel image
c) Copy the modified Alpha channel (menu Edit > Copy)
d) Paste this new Alpha channel (menu Layer > Transparency > Paste as Alpha channel

2. Border will be inflated only (loose some details)
a) Apply the function Layer > Border effect > progressive contour
choose a low radius like 7, but repeat this 2 or 3 times. This will preserve more details


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaussian blur and distort issue
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2016 15:44 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 05 Oct 2009 22:46
Posts: 15
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio
Processor: --
RAM memory: --
I've always used gaussian blur. I've tried all the possible methods already and the result is the same sadly. Progressive contour makes it even worse. Editing alpha channel works, but the result is only black or white then, right? And it's extremely cumbersome to do.
Image

Like I said before, in the previous versions there were no issues with gaussian blur, I've been using photofiltre studio x for almost 10 years now. Applying gaussian blur on the layer gave the exact same effect as applying the blur on the background (the previous comparison I posted), it was nice and easy. After updating to the latest version I instantly noticed this issue. I really wouldn't like to downgrade to the earlier versions because I like all the other improvements made. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group