PhotoFiltre

Le forum officiel de PhotoFiltre
It is currently 10 Dec 2019 8:35

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A plugin for assisted white balance. beta
PostPosted: 06 Jan 2005 22:20 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Hi

I've made a plugin that can correct the whitebalance. Just use the pipet on some places that should be white (or grey) and then use one of the five preview buttons.

All remarks are welcome. Be aware that this is beta software 8)

Download :

EDIT : There's now a 0.95 on :

http://users.telenet.be/alain.decamps/wbalance_95.zip


Alain


Last edited by Alain on 30 Aug 2005 22:14, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 07 Jan 2005 10:22 
Offline
Développeur
Développeur(se)|Développeur|Développeuse
User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2004 7:45
Posts: 985
Location: 78
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: 6
Operating System: xp seven
Hi,
First, sorry for my english .... :oops:
Welcome to PhotoFiltre plugins' developpers.
What is your programmers' language ??? (C?)

Your plugin run fine, no bug, no crash.
1) When PhotoFiltre is hide, the plugin stay "on top"
2) When no color is selected, its good if the actions buttons was disabled.
3) Perhaps a slider to set intensity, in future ?? :wink:

Congratulation, as for the next ????? :wink: :D
p@f


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 07 Jan 2005 17:20 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
pf wrote:
Hi,
First, sorry for my english .... :oops:
Welcome to PhotoFiltre plugins' developpers.
What is your programmers' language ??? (C?)

Your plugin run fine, no bug, no crash.
1) When PhotoFiltre is hide, the plugin stay "on top"
2) When no color is selected, its good if the actions buttons was disabled.
3) Perhaps a slider to set intensity, in future ?? :wink:

Congratulation, as for the next ????? :wink: :D
p@f


Started with democ from the sdk. Will move to c++, but with the free commandline c++ compiler from Borland.

3) While the intensity depends on the chosen preview, it may be a good idea to add an extra slider in the future.

Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Before and After
PostPosted: 12 Jan 2005 20:57 
Offline
Régulier
Régulier(ère)|Régulier|Régulière

Joined: 20 Dec 2004 3:10
Posts: 165
Location: Abington, Pa USA
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: Free and Studio
Operating System: Coffee
Processor: God Given Brain
RAM memory: Not as well as when I was younger
Alain:

Here's a result from a quick test of your plugin. I did fade the filter a little but otherwise did a great job I think.

The few images I worked on I was pleased with it over using the Invert Color Layers method because it doesn't wash out the hi-lites areas as much as that method.

Good Job and thanks for sharing.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2005 16:52 
Offline
Membre d'honneur
Membre d'honneur

Joined: 08 Mar 2004 18:17
Posts: 3127
Location: Essonne
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: Dernières de PF Free et PFS
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP2
Processor: Athlon 64 3500+ non O/C
RAM memory: 2x512 Mo en DC
Wow 8)
The result is impressing :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Before and After
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2005 22:03 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Bill wrote:
Alain:

Here's a result from a quick test of your plugin. I did fade the filter a little but otherwise did a great job I think.

The few images I worked on I was pleased with it over using the Invert Color Layers method because it doesn't wash out the hi-lites areas as much as that method.

Good Job and thanks for sharing.


Thanks for the nice comment and the example. Did you try the different previews? Any comments on that...

Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: All worked fine.
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2005 4:43 
Offline
Régulier
Régulier(ère)|Régulier|Régulière

Joined: 20 Dec 2004 3:10
Posts: 165
Location: Abington, Pa USA
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: Free and Studio
Operating System: Coffee
Processor: God Given Brain
RAM memory: Not as well as when I was younger
Alain:

Everything seemed to work fine for me. I'll probably do a quick tutorial or the above image change using your plug-in.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: All worked fine.
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2005 12:21 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Bill

Bill wrote:
Alain:

Everything seemed to work fine for me. I'll probably do a quick tutorial or the above image change using your plug-in.


That would be great.


Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2005 14:23 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Hi

Here a new beta version 0.91, a lot of internal changes. I've tried to integrate most requests. The algorithm itself hasn't changed.

http://users.telenet.be/alain.decamps/wbalance_91.zip

Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Looking Good!
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2005 17:19 
Offline
Régulier
Régulier(ère)|Régulier|Régulière

Joined: 20 Dec 2004 3:10
Posts: 165
Location: Abington, Pa USA
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: Free and Studio
Operating System: Coffee
Processor: God Given Brain
RAM memory: Not as well as when I was younger
Alain:

All works fine for me. Here's the changes I noticed.

1) No buttons except Cancel are active until you pick a color.

2) Once a color is selected Color Preview buttons become active.

3) Once a Color Preview button is selected the Restore and Okay buttons become active.

There is one thing I did notice though that I'm not sure if you can do anything about:

If I select your Plug-in and then select the Zoom Tool tomget a better color sampling your plugin goes to the rear and I have to shrink the window to find it.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Looking Good!
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2005 17:23 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Bill wrote:
Alain:

All works fine for me. Here's the changes I noticed.

1) No buttons except Cancel are active until you pick a color.

2) Once a color is selected Color Preview buttons become active.

3) Once a Color Preview button is selected the Restore and Okay buttons become active.

There is one thing I did notice though that I'm not sure if you can do anything about:

If I select your Plug-in and then select the Zoom Tool tomget a better color sampling your plugin goes to the rear and I have to shrink the window to find it.


That should ideed be the visual changes. The last one is known to me and I will try to fix it. Before the plugin would always stay on top, even if you started another application.

Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Looking Good!
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2005 17:57 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
Hi
Bill wrote:
Alain:
There is one thing I did notice though that I'm not sure if you can do anything about:

If I select your Plug-in and then select the Zoom Tool tomget a better color sampling your plugin goes to the rear and I have to shrink the window to find it.


Here a new beta version 0.92, should fix the disappearing :

http://users.telenet.be/alain.decamps/wbalance_92.zip

Alain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Talk about Service
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2005 1:56 
Offline
Régulier
Régulier(ère)|Régulier|Régulière

Joined: 20 Dec 2004 3:10
Posts: 165
Location: Abington, Pa USA
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: Free and Studio
Operating System: Coffee
Processor: God Given Brain
RAM memory: Not as well as when I was younger
Alain:

Boy was that quick :D

Works like a charm.

Again thanks for sharing with us.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2005 6:23 
Offline
Habitué
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 16 Jun 2004 10:14
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.0
Operating System: Win XP
Processor: 2.4Ghz
RAM memory: 256
Nice ... :) Really makes my photos look a lot better now! .... Thanks!

A little request: Would it be possible to have one more button called "Original". Yes, I know the restore sets things back and I can see the original, but the problem here is that all the pixels I selected get lost and I'll have to re-select them again. It is sometimes useful to Preview Red and compare it with the Original as also similar comparisons of Blue and Green with the Original. Now, I could compare between colours, but not with the original as the pixels selected are lost.

Also, Is there some definite no. of pixels that "WB" uses ... I mean like 1 to 10 or 1 to 20 or something like that or does it calculates based on all the pixels selected without limits? Does the selection of the say coloured pixel more no. of times change the average?

Thanks for the plugin and Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2005 11:16 
Offline
Habitué(e)
Habitué(e)|Habitué|Habituée

Joined: 02 Jan 2005 17:03
Posts: 82
Location: Aartselaar,Vlaanderen
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: 6.2.7
Operating System: XP
RAM memory: 1024
JogyGeorge wrote:
Nice ... :) Really makes my photos look a lot better now! .... Thanks!

A little request: Would it be possible to have one more button called "Original". Yes, I know the restore sets things back and I can see the original, but the problem here is that all the pixels I selected get lost and I'll have to re-select them again. It is sometimes useful to Preview Red and compare it with the Original as also similar comparisons of Blue and Green with the Original. Now, I could compare between colours, but not with the original as the pixels selected are lost.

I see you're point.
JogyGeorge wrote:
Also, Is there some definite no. of pixels that "WB" uses ... I mean like 1 to 10 or 1 to 20 or something like that or does it calculates based on all the pixels selected without limits? Does the selection of the say coloured pixel more no. of times change the average?

Thanks for the plugin and Cheers!


The plugin uses the average from the last 10 selected points or all points if less than 10. If you select coloured pixels they are taken into account, this can give some special effects. The plugin assumes that all selected pixels should have been grey (aka should have the same amount Red,Green and Blue) and calculates the correction whats needed to make them "grey". This correction is then applied to all pixels.

Maybe a good idea to ignore selected pixels if they should need a much higher correction that the other selected pixels. This would make the plugin more "error safe".

Alain[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group