PhotoFiltre

Le forum officiel de PhotoFiltre
It is currently 17 Oct 2019 7:12

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why is "Hide Selection" a menu command instead of ...
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2010 14:46 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 03 Aug 2008 4:26
Posts: 19
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio X 10.2.0
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Processor: Intel vPro Dual 1.8G
RAM memory: 1 GB
...a dynamic mouse-click result like it is in virtually every other graphics editing application I use/have used in the past/will use in the future?

I understand the usefulness of a "Show Selection" -- even GIMP 2.6 has that on all platforms -- but it sometimes gets me scratching my head why I can't just 'click out in deadspace' to hide or even eliminate a selection. Seldom do I find the "Hide Selection" or Ctrl-D key combination truly useful. I'd like to know what the reasoning behind it was: maybe then I can glom on to its usefulness.

BZT
[zedspeak-glossary]click out in deadspace: to right-click in the same image window outside the bounds of a selection, or somewhere still on the working canvas of the frontmost window not contingent on the selection.

_________________
(Do you think I come here just to post gripes and complaints? You're absolutely right.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why is "Hide Selection" a menu command instead of ...
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2010 15:56 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 23:49
Posts: 11214
Gender: None specified
because i don't like this method :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why is "Hide Selection" a menu command instead of ...
PostPosted: 14 Apr 2011 8:33 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 14 Apr 2011 8:23
Posts: 3
Gender: None specified
A user of many graphic programs, I did not recognize this description for what it was...Select None...might more clear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why is "Hide Selection" a menu command instead of ...
PostPosted: 14 Apr 2011 19:05 
Offline
Nouveau(elle)
Nouveau(elle)|Nouveau|Nouvelle

Joined: 03 Aug 2008 4:26
Posts: 19
Gender: None specified
PhotoFiltre version: Studio X 10.2.0
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Processor: Intel vPro Dual 1.8G
RAM memory: 1 GB
elle wrote:
A user of many graphic programs, I did not recognize this description for what it was...Select None...might more clear.

Yes, I agree. "Select None" might be better for future versions of PF/PFS.

BZT

_________________
(Do you think I come here just to post gripes and complaints? You're absolutely right.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why is "Hide Selection" a menu command instead of ...
PostPosted: 14 Apr 2011 20:42 
Offline
Administrateur(trice)
Administrateur(trice)|Administrateur|Administratrice

Joined: 28 Oct 2003 23:49
Posts: 11214
Gender: None specified
Sorry, don't understand difference between Hide selection and Selection None ?

And in PhotoFiltre, Hide selection is better because you can show the selection again just after, the selection is not lost or reset, just hideen ! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group